Kristen Stewart Accepts American Riviera Award from Charlize Theron

Reads 4709

By Lauren Bray, edhat staff

Academy Award-winning actress Charlize Theron presented Kristen Stewart with the American Riviera Award at the Santa Barbara International Film Festival on Friday.

Stewart is nominated for an Academy Award for her portrayal of Princess Diana in Pablo Larrain's "Spencer." She sat down with Indiewire Editor-at-Large Anne Thompson at the Arlington Theatre for an in-person discussion about her career and recent nomination.

Attendees enjoyed clips from her acting career throughout their conversation. They discussed her roles in Panic Room, Zathura: A Space Adventure, Into the Wild, Adventureland, Still Alice, The Runaways, Twilight, Happiest Season, Clouds of Sils Maria, Personal Shopper, and Spencer.

Kristen Stewart (Photo by Fritz Olenberger)

Stewart stated she didn't feel famous until the first Twilight movie. "Two days before 'Twilight' came out, I remember I was sitting on my porch with my dog and I got papped for the first time... sitting there smoking a bowl... I look back on that moment with fondness," she said.

Theron, her "Snow White And The Huntsman" co-star, presented Stewart with the American Rivera Award. "You have a real commitment and it shows in everything you do. It's been so fun to watch the trajectory of your career.... Your most recent film, 'Spencer', I have to say is my favorite work of yours to date. It's not an easy task to take on the most iconic figure in modern history, but you let us into this character. You gave us a glimpse into her soul in the most tactful and heart-wrenching way," Theron said.

She went on to poke fun of Stewart's penchant for curse words and let loose a stream of expletives mocking the actress, much to the crowd's enjoyment.

Stewart accepted the award and thanked "Spencer" director Pablo Larrain and went on to thank the festival. "Thank you for acknowledging me at this time in my life. I'm in such a good place to receive it," she said.

Kristen Stewart and Charlize Theron (Photo by Fritz Olenberger)

The American Riviera Award was established to recognize actors who have made a significant contribution to American Cinema. Previous recipients include Delroy Lindo, Renée Zellweger, Viggo Mortenson, Sam Rockwell, Jeff Bridges, Michael Keaton, Rachel McAdams, Mark Ruffalo, Patricia Arquette, Ethan Hawke, Robert Redford, Quentin Tarantino, Martin Scorsese, Annette Bening, Sandra Bullock, Mickey Rourke, Tommy Lee Jones, Forrest Whitaker, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Kevin Bacon and Diane Lane. 

The Santa Barbara International Film Festival runs from March 2- 12. Visit for more information.

Login to add Comments


Show Comments
Please Login or Register to comment on this.