AWC-SB 14th Annual Women of Achievement Awards Luncheon

By Bonnie Carroll

Woman of Achievement Chair Lauren Bianchi Klemann and her WOA board members Christina Favuzzi, Hannah Sullivan Jade Martinez-Pogue, Hillary Blackerby, and Lysa Urban presented an outstanding 14th Annual AWCSB Women of Achievement Awards Luncheon and awards presentation at Cabrillo Pavilion on Friday, May 29th to honor six outstanding Santa Barbara women.

2022 award recipients included Gina De Pinto: APR, former Communications Manager, County of Santa Barbara, Van Do-Reynoso: MPH, PhD, Director of Public Health, County of Santa Barbara, Suzanne Grimmesey: MFT, Chief Quality Care and Strategy Officer, Department of Behavioral Wellness, County of Santa Barbara, Mona Miyosato: County Executive Officer, County of Santa Barbara, Terri Nisich: Assistant Executive, County of Santa Barbara, and Jackie Ruiz: MPH, Public Information Officer and Health Care Program Coordinator, Public Health, County of Santa Barbara. These women all played significant roles in public communication throughout 2021-2022 working to protect and serve the community during Covid-19 and save lives. 

Paula Lopez, a former AWC-SB Women of Achievement award recipient, was Emcee for the program. The former award-winning broadcast journalist interviewed each recipient and President Lisa Osborne, and Lauren Bianchi Klemann presented the awards. Perie Longo past Women of Achievement award winner and renowned Santa Barbara Poet Laureate wrote and presented a poem with the theme “Navigating Uncharted Waters” honoring the six award recipients. 

Over 100 AWC-SB members, VIPs, and invited guests filled the Cabrillo Pavilion to celebrate the 2022 Women of Achievement winners, say hello to old friends, and appreciate being in the company of community associates and friends once again. Among the guests were Sheriff Bill Brown and his wife, County Supervisors’ Gregg Hart, Das Williams, and Joan Hartman. Guests enjoyed a delicious lunch presented by Women’s Economic Ventures (WEV) members Niki Daley, Heat Catering and staff.

Congratulations to these 2022 outstanding award winners, thank you to the event sponsors, and much appreciation to the current board members President Lisa Osborn, WOC Chair and PR – Lauren Bianchi Klemann, Treasurer – Christine Di Berardino, Carolyn Jabs – Past President and Membership Chair, Erica Schweitzer – Website, Lisa Dahni – Secretary, Leslie Dinaberg – Social Media, Monica Kunz – Design, and Joan Tapper -Programming for contributing so much to the success of the 14th Annual AWC-SB Women of Achievement Awards. 

About AWC-SB
The Association of Women in Communications is a national organization that helps women develop and deepen the communication skills they need to succeed in a variety of fields. Our local chapter now includes authors, journalists, broadcasters, entrepreneurs, designers, marketers, corporate communicators, coaches, and public relations experts. AWC-SB offers professional communicators and businesswomen an opportunity to network with colleagues who understand the challenges of contemporary communication.  For membership information please visit


Written by Anonymous

What do you think?


0 Comments deleted by Administrator

Leave a Review or Comment

Performance to Remember by World Acclaimed Violinist Anne Akiko Meyers

Two Injured in Head-On Collision Near Lompoc