Atlas V Launch Scheduled for Monday

Atlas V Launch Scheduled for Monday title=
Atlas V Launch Scheduled for Monday
1 Comments
Reads 1305

Source: United Launch Alliance

The initial forecast from the Space Force's Space Launch Delta 30 weather squadron for Monday's launch of Atlas V and the Landsat 9 satellite indicates a 90 percent chance of favorable conditions.

A weather system approaching from the northwest early next week will bring seasonal summertime conditions for Vandenberg on Monday with a marine layer of low stratus clouds and fog.

The launch time forecast for 11:11 a.m. PDT (2:11 p.m. EDT; 1811 UTC) includes complete overcast conditions of low-level clouds at 500 feet, visibility of 3-5 miles in fog, northwesterly winds gusting to 16 knots and a temperature near 61 degrees F.

If the launch moves to the backup opportunity on Tuesday for some reason, there is a 60 percent chance of meeting the weather rules due to ground winds. 

Login to add Comments

1 Comments

Show Comments
Please Login or Register to comment on this.