Platinum Sounds: The Symphony Turns 70

Platinum Sounds: The Symphony Turns 70 title=
Platinum Sounds: The Symphony Turns 70
Reads 353
Event Date: 
Saturday, May 13, 2023 - 19:30

This platinum anniversary concert highlights The Symphony’s brilliant principal players in Concerto Grosso, American composer Jonathan Leshnoff’s work, previously commissioned for our 60th. Violin soloist and multi-Grammy© nominee Philippe Quint brings his imaginative approach to Mendelssohn’s gorgeous Violin Concerto in E minor, Op. 64, one of the most prominent and highly regarded works in the concerto repertoire for violin, while Johannes Brahms’ monumental Symphony No. 1 in C minor, Op. 68 – which took the composer 21 years of revisions to declare ready for public performance in 1876 – will bring the evening – and our 70th Anniversary Subscription Season – to a triumphant close.

Jonathan Leshnoff | Concerto Grosso (Commissioned for The Symphony’s 60th Anniversary)

Felix Mendelssohn | Violin Concerto

Johannes Brahms | Symphony No. 1

The Artists
Nir Kabaretti, Conductor
Philippe Quint, Violin


Event Category: