MCSA Swears-In New Executive Board Members

MCSA Executive Board 2024 (Courtesy Photo)

The Executive Board was sworn-in during the MCSA Winter Conference in Washington, DC

By Major County Sheriffs of America

Last week, the Major County Sheriffs of America held a swearing-in ceremony for its new Executive Board members. Sheriff Bill Brown of Santa Barbara County, California will serve as the MCSA President for the next two years. Sheriff Brown was sworn-in by Congressman Salud Carbajal (CA-24). In addition, Sheriff Bob Gualtieri of Pinellas County, Florida will serve as MCSA Vice President; Sheriff Don Barnes of Orange County, California will serve as the Vice President of Homeland Security; and Sheriff Bill Waybourn of Tarrant County, Texas will serve as MCSA Treasurer. Sheriff Dennis Lemma of Seminole County, Florida will become Immediate Past President after serving and leading the association for the past two years.

MCSA Swearing-In (Courtesy Photo)

Sheriff Bill Waybourn previously served as the Region 2 Representative for MCSA prior to taking on the role as Treasurer. His vacancy will be filled by Sheriff Tommie Johnson, III of Oklahoma County, Oklahoma.

“It is an honor to lead the Major County Sheriffs of America for the next two years,” said MCSA President Bill Brown. “Law enforcement faces an unprecedented number of challenges, and we will continue to be a voice across the country to push for reforms that protect and secure our communities while at the same time giving our deputies the tools and training they need to keep themselves and their citizens safe.”

Returning Board Members include Sheriff Michael J. Bouchard of Oakland County, Michigan who will continue to serve as MCSA Vice President of Government Affairs; and Sheriff Leon Lott of Richland County, South Carolina who will serve again as MCSA Secretary. Sheriff Chad Bianco of Riverside County, California will continue to serve as Region 1 Representative; Sheriff Michelle LaJoye-Young of Kent County, Michigan will continue to serve as Region 3 Representative; and Sheriff Garry McFadden of Mecklenburg County, North Carolina will continue to serve as Region 4 Representative.

Sheriff Bill Brown and Congressman Salud Carbajal (Courtesy)

Sheriff Brown and Congressman Carbajal (Courtesy)

For any inquiries to MCSA President Bill Brown, please contact him at For any other inquiries, please contact MCSA Executive Director Megan Noland at

The Major County Sheriffs of America is a professional law enforcement association of the largest Sheriff’s Offices in the country representing counties or parishes with a population of 500,000 or more. We are dedicated to preserving the highest integrity in law enforcement and the elected Office of the Sheriff. Our membership represents over 130 million citizens.


Written by sbsheriff

Press releases written by the Santa Barbara County Sheriff's Office

NatureTrack’s Nancy Stearns Scholarship

FSA Unveils Program to Help Older Adults Age in Place